The CardBoard

Full Version: Covid-19 considerations
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34
Given we are on the verge of an unprecedented public health crisis, I hope the mods don't shut this down because it is too "controversial" to discuss here, but information is power, and I have some that I feel will help people at least a little.

Let me preface by making clear I'm not a doctor or scientist, though I have a "scientific mind" if that makes sense. I've been following the Novel Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 that leads to Covid-19, for over a month, pretty closely.  

First some facts based on the best available scientific and medical data, much not peer-reviewed, but still useful:

NOT Flu
- The flu has a Rate of Transmission (Ro - "R naught) of about 1, meaning basically 1-1 spread that doesn't grow much.
- Covid-19 has a Ro of at least 2.5 and probably closer to 5 or 6, meaning geometric spread.
- The virus transmits from people not showing symptoms, to others, and can incubate for up to 24 days before symptoms show.
- Spreads in multiple ways, including surfaces, water droplets (sneeze), and via air (think what you see floating in room with sun beam).
- Shows signs of being able to live 9 days on surfaces while flu is up to 48 hours.
- The complication rate (pneumonia/lung infection) is about 20% of those diagnosed with Covid-19. 
- Complication requires oxygen, ventilator and on average 8-day hospital stay.
- Death rate ~ 2% based on known data; flu is .1% = this is 10x-20x more deadly than flu.
- Re-infection is occurring.
- Some research shows second infection worse, because immune system overreacts and attacks body, could complicate vaccine development.

Other items to think about